Travel News

Citizens of Kosovo will have visa-free access to Schengen countries from 2024

EU Parliament voted to grant visa-free travel to citizens of Kosovo by end of next year.

Government building of Kosovo, PristinaPhoto by Besart Ademi on Unsplash

The European Union Parliament has voted in favor of allowing citizens of Kosovo to travel visa-free to the Schengen zone by the end of 2024.

The EU’s Schengen travel area currently does not grant visa-free travel to citizens of Kosovo, which was previously a Serbian province in the former Yugoslavia. This reform will be seen as a positive move in Pristina, as it is another step towards full recognition and supports the European aspirations of the territory.

The decision to allow visa-free travel for citizens of Kosovo to the EU’s Schengen zone was welcomed by many, including the government of Kosovo. The move will make it easier for Kosovar citizens to travel to other European countries for work, study, or leisure, and will also help to strengthen ties between Kosovo and the European Union.

However, it’s worth noting that not all EU member states recognize Kosovo as an independent country. This can cause complications when it comes to international relations and diplomacy. Kosovo’s ongoing lack of recognition by some EU member states is a subject of ongoing debate and negotiation.

Kosovo gained independence after a war in 1998-1999, but its former breakaway province, Serbia, does not recognize it. Additionally, Spain, Cyprus, Greece, Slovakia, and Romania, which are EU member states, also do not recognize Kosovo’s independence.

Euro Directions
the authorEuro Directions
Columnist and content editor
The staff of columnists and content editors of European travel magazine.